SMHS medical students compete in 2018 Simlympics

  • Friday, February 16, 2018
  • News
Katelyn McMahan, Cassonrda Kambeitz, and Carissa Klarich at the SMHS Simlympics 2018

On February 6 and 7, 2018, the UND SMHS Simulation Society and The North Dakota Simulation, Teaching, and Research team (ND-STAR) hosted the annual “Simlympics” competition at the University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences. Teams of four first-year medical students competed in 10-minute medical scenarios in a tournament format in front of a panel of judges. Scenarios included atrial fibrillation, a gunshot wound, pediatric acetaminophen overdose, asthma attack, and a broken leg.

Winners of Tuesday’s competition were Madie DeFrance, Mary Johanson, Alexis Malaterre, and Natalie McIntire; winners of Wednesday’s competition were Audrey Lane, Megan Kolb, Cassie Walth, and Allie Trudel.

Teams were evaluated on their teamwork, acquisition of the patient's history and physical, compassion, empathy, professionalism, and communication. Honorary judges included, Dr. Rabeea Aboufakher, M.D., Dr. Bryan Delage, M.D., Dr. Joycelyn Dorscher, M.D., Dr. Walter Kemp, M.D., and Dr. Joshua Wynne, M.D., M.B.A., M.P.H.

Members of the UND SMHS Simulation Society include Annika Strand, Jimmy Evers, Jason Barba, Tyler Beattie, and Ryan Brown.

Stay tuned for a possible championship match between the winners of both evenings.

Thank you to each of the judges and to the Simulation Center staff members for putting in extra hours to pull off this great event.